Wrapping up the Wards & districts

Okay, that was a high-level overview of the districts and areas in Tokyo. It’s probably not all going to make a lot of sense to you right now.

An important thing to keep straight in your mind is that while I covered a lot of different areas, they’re all inside Tokyo and many are bunched together into hubs. 

That’s not the official word for it, I simply mean they are together so you could visit them at the same time.

These hubs come together something like this:

  • Akihabara, Kanda, and Jimbocho
  • Asakusa
  • Chiyoda – Imperial Palace
  • Ebisu, Daikanyama, and Meguro
  • Ginza
  • Harajuku and Aoyama
  • Odaiba
  • Roppongi and Akasaka
  • Shibuya
  • Shimbashi and Shinagawa
  • Shinjuku
  • Tokyo Station and Marunouchi
  • Tsukiji
  • Ueno

Think of it like this. If you’re in Harajuku looking for that hot new t-shirt, you’re close enough to the Nezu Museum in Aoyama to check it out the same day without wasting a lot of time.

Once you’re in the middle of planning your time in Tokyo it will all begin to make sense.

That’s it for the technical details of Tokyo. Let’s look at some seasonal foods in Japan next.

Next Page: Chapter 4: Seasonal Flavors of Food in Japan