There’s Vegan-Friendly Ramen in Tokyo?

(☞゚ヮ゚)☞ Discover more of Tokyo!

Tokyo. Delivered.

Get hand-picked Tokyo content (like this issue) delivered directly to your inbox; TokyoSpark is me and my local Japanese friends delivering cool Tokyo info. Totally free; no spam. Promise! Learn More

Yes. There is a such thing as vegan-friendly ramen. Is that hard to believe, given we live in a world with plant-based meats? 🙂

While a normal ramen broth will have a mixture of chicken, beef, pork, or fish — there are now shops looking to change things up and experiment with new ideas.

If vegan-friendly ramen is something you’re interested in, here is an article sharing 5 vegetarian and vegan-friendly ramen shops in Tokyo.

A typical bowl contains animal and fish-derived ingredients, so diners with dietary restrictions and allergies often find it challenging to get noodles that they can eat. As awareness of veganism and vegetarianism grows in Japan, some restaurants and shops are changing the conventions of ramen.” (MatchaRamen)

Interesting? Help us grow, share. 🙏

This blurb is from the October 15th, 2020 issue of TokyoSpark titled "Ramen Special! Tonkotsu-ish Ramen, the First Ramen Shop, & Ramen Championships".